Caption: Michael Kynast, Managing Director of the Rapid.Tech 3D organizer Messe Erfurt, welcomes Prof. Dr. Christian Seidel (right) from Munich University of Applied Sciences as the new chairman of the Rapid.Tech 3D Advisory Board. The expert for additive manufacturing brings the scientific competence to the committee. Photo: Christian Seeling/Messe Erfurt - (from left to right) Michael Kynast, Managing Director Messe Erfurt and Prof. Dr. Christian Seidel

Rapid.Tech 3D: Change at the top of the advisory board

Prof. Dr Christian Seidel takes over from Prof. Dr Gerd Witt and joins Michael Eichmann to form new leadership duo

Change at the top of the Rapid.Tech 3D advisory board: Prof. Dr Christian Seidel, head of the Smart Manufacturing Lab at Munich University of Applied Sciences and head of additive manufacturing research at the Fraunhofer Institute for Foundry, Composite and Processing Technology (IGCV) in Augsburg, is taking over from Prof. Dr Gerd Witt of the University of Duisburg-Essen. Prof. Seidel will now share the leadership of the board with Stratasys manager Michael Eichmann, who has been contributing his industry expertise to the group since the very first Rapid.Tech 3D.

The scientist has been closely associated with the specialist conference in Erfurt for more than ten years, both as a guest and as a speaker. ‘This congress’s approach makes it one of a kind in Germany, and it means a great deal to me. I am happy to be playing an active role in further strengthening this important platform. In addition to promoting its high-calibre industry forums, I see it as my role to continue enhancing the scientific aspects of the conference. This includes attracting even more young researchers to present their work to expert audiences in Erfurt,’ says Prof. Seidel.

His predecessor will also support him in these efforts. Prof. Witt will continue to be involved in Rapid.Tech 3D in his capacity as Honorary Chairman.

The next Rapid.Tech 3D will be held in Erfurt from 14 to 16 May 2024, when the conference will be marking its 20th year.

Further information at: